I recently asked Joel Zachry for a quote that I could use in a news release to announce the 2009 season of our Smoky Mountain Field School, which offers workshops, hikes, and adventures in Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

The Field School is a 31-year partnership between UT and the National Park.

Zachry and his wife, Kathy, have taught Field School courses for many years.

I expected Zachry to provide a good comment about our program, but I didn’t quite expect the following:

“The Field School has been a wonderful cooperative effort between the University and the National Park,” Zachry said. “People from all walks of life, professions, and outdoor interests come together to learn in small group settings.

“In my 28 years on the Field School staff I have never come away from a session without learning something myself from a participant,” Zachry continued. “It has always been a guide in my life to surround myself with people who lift me up, rather than tear me down, and I always come away from a Field School gathering enlightened and uplifted.

“Too, I depart with hope for our environment and the knowledge that many others share my love of nature and respect for the creation.”

Wow! Who wouldn’t want to experience the Smokies with an instructor such as Zachry?

Field School courses begin in late March, and registration is already underway.

By the way, Zachry and his wife will lead several Field School adventures in 2009, including a new course, “Spring Wildflowers and Walker Sisters’ Homesite,” on Saturday, April 11.

Darrin Devault, UT Professional & Personal Development