The University of Tennessee’s spring non-credit course catalog is being mailed to Knoxville-area homes this week.

The catalog includes a feature article written by Tom Geisler, a local professional wedding and family photographer.

Tom teaches our Fundamentals of Digital Photography I & II, the core courses in the UT Photography Certificate Program.

Here is a portion of Tom’s article:

“My serious venture into photography started about 30 years ago when I watched my father transition from his career as a minister into retirement.

His only interest had been serving other people. In retirement, he was lost. He constantly filled in for sick or vacationing ministers, but it just wasn’t the same. He had not developed any hobbies or fun skills to occupy his retirement years.

I was determined to not let that happen to me….

Some way I found photography (remember, this was back in film days, not quite glass plates and daguerreotypes, but full of mechanical camera parts, electronic flashes, wires, switches, and a darkroom full of chemistry and magic).

Making images for people and having them actually like them was all I needed. I shot images all the time and spent hours in the darkroom perfecting my skills.

The digital age finally became affordable to me, and the whole process started all over again with “computer darkrooms” and wonderful cameras and equipment, but the best part was when I started teaching non-credit photography courses for the University of Tennessee….

Helping students understand the wonderful world of digital photography with all the possible controls and variations just makes me happy. And after all, isn’t that what a hobby is supposed to do?”

View Tom’s current non-credit course schedule.

Darrin Devault, UT Professional & Personal Development

Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/utnoncredit

