2_Stacey-FletcherOur fall non-credit catalog contains a first-person feature written by instructor Stacey Fletcher Reynolds, who talks about her background as an artist and her teaching philosophy.

The catalog was distributed as a direct mail piece to Knoxville-area homes and businesses earlier this month, but it seems that Stacey’s grandmother and parents in Georgia found out about the article before Stacey could share the news with them.

“I hadn’t told my parents about it, and my father called last week saying he was so excited,” Stacey said. “He was so disappointed in the fact that I hadn’t told them. Apparently an elderly lady that lives in (their) neighborhood has a granddaughter that lives in Knoxville. She mentioned it to her grandmother (who then) told my parents about it.”

Here’s an excerpt from Stacey’s article:

“My role as a teacher is an active dynamic relationship between the students and myself,” she wrote. “It involves a delivery of knowledge in lectures, discussions, presentations of various artists, and classroom demonstrations. I want the students to explore their imaginations while I teach them to clarify their own ideas while practicing conceptual building skills.

“In my opinion, painting is more relaxing than anything else, and I feel as if I convey that through my teaching,” she added.

Stacey earned a B.F.A. in 2000 at Valdosta (Ga.) State University and an M.F.A. in 2003 from UT. She has shown nationally and internationally in many individual, group, and juried exhibitions.

Stacey’s fall course schedule includes Beginning Watercolor (Sept. 15 – Oct. 20; $119) and Beginning Acrylic Painting (Sept. 17 – Oct. 22; $119).

Darrin Devault, UT Professional & Personal Development

Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/utnoncredit

