I was one of many volunteers from the Volunteer chapter of the Public Relations Society of America who gave resume critiques at Tuesday’s Career Transition Assistance Fair at Chilhowee Park.

It was an eye-opening experience for me, linking actual East Tennessee faces to our nation’s recession and rising unemployment rate.

I spent almost four hours assisting everyone from recent college graduates to vastly experienced workers with more than 30 years of service.

At least two of the experienced workers remarked that they haven’t had to prepare a resume in decades.

I started to feel bad for them, but I could see in their determined eyes that they’ll persevere.

I hope other job seekers in our region will adopt the same determination.

Darrin Devault, UT Professional & Personal Development

Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/utnoncredit

